Indonesia Becomes AACC's Permanent Secretariat

11 August 2016

 Chief Justice of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Indonesia Arief Hidayad stated that member countries of the Association of Asian Constitutional Courts and Equivalent Institutions (AACC) agreed to decide Indonesia as the Association’s permanent secretariat. The decision was taken in AACC’s Board of Members Meeting on Wednesday (10/8), in Bali Nusa Dua Convention Center.

“Board of Members Meeting has decided Indonesia as permanent secretariat of the AACC in planning and coordination division,” said Arief who also served as the Association’s President after the Meeting.

Indonesia is jointly with Republic of Korea which in research and development division, and Turkey which in charge of education and training division.

Previously, member countries delivered arguments in the Meeting to decide one of the three options available; single permanent secretariat, joint secretariat, and rotating secretariat. Turkey delivered that joint secretariat will trouble coordination, thus single permanent secretariat is the best and most logical option.

Malaysia delegation argued that coordination problem can be solved with technology advancement. The delegation also proposed that Turkey might be involved in part of joint secretariat that in charge of education and training because Turkey experienced in hosting summer school program for constitutional court justices and registrars.

With a number of considerations, Turkey’s Constitutional Court Chief Justice Zuhtu Arslan eventually declared to withdraw initial proposal and agree on joint secretariat establishment. He requested his institution to be involved in secretariat as education and training division, so Indonesian and Republic of Korea may focus on coordination and research division respectively.

Official Language

Board of Members Meeting also agreed on Russian language as second working language. Russian language will be used in official events only, while for correspondence and official documents the AACC still use English. As known, Russian-speaking member countries Russia, Azerbaijan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Mongolia proposed the use of Russian language as second working language in previous Secretariat Generals Meeting.

Board of Members Meeting will also discuss about amendment of AACC Statute, Bali Declaration, and appointment of AACC President which decided in Friday’s (12/8) meeting. Regarding the amendment, Board of Members decided to form working group consists of delegation representatives.The Meeting was a preliminary event prior to third Congress of the AACC. The Congress entitled “The Promotion and Protection of Citizen’s Constitutional Rights” will be opened by President Joko Widodo on Thursday (11/8). (iwm/rit/lul/pan)